

For Immediate Release

Contact: <u>Alia Faraj-Johnson</u>

Monday, October 14, 2024

Phone: 850-212-8317

## Florida Association of Nurse Anesthesiology Announces New President and Board of Directors for 2024-2025

**Orlando** -- <u>The Florida Association of Nurse Anesthesiology</u> (FANA) has announced its 2024-2025 President and leadership team along with newly elected Board members. The new members were sworn in at FANA's Annual Meeting which was held in Orlando. FANA is Florida's 88-year-old professional association representing the State's more than 6,400 nurse anesthesiology professionals.

Laura Molina, DNP, CRNA, will serve as the Association's President. She has served on the Board since 2021 and is a practicing locum tenens Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist who works across multiple states and practice models. Dr. Molina has been a statewide champion for modernizing state laws on independent practice including direct advocacy with policymakers in Tallahassee.

"The great work of nurse anesthesiology professionals around the State has elevated awareness of the incredibly important work we do each day throughout our State," said Dr. Molina. "The leadership of those who have come before me has increased our visibility in the halls of our state capitol. I am grateful and honored to continue their historic efforts to ensure our work continues to be valued and enhanced."

CRNAs practice in every setting in which anesthesia is delivered. They are also primary providers of anesthesia care in rural and medically underserved areas and on the battlefield in forward surgical teams, military ships, and forward operating bases. As expert clinicians with specialized skills in advanced airway and ventilator management, advanced hemodynamic monitoring, and advanced patient assessment, CRNAs have helped to fill increased medical care needs throughout the State, country and world.

Molina was elected by the FANA membership and will serve a one-year term. Karla Maldonado, DrAP, CRNA, APRN, FAANA, will continue to serve as Immediate Past-President.

Other Board members elected, appointed, or continuing their terms include:

Ryan Shores, DNP, CRNA, APRN - President-Elect

Jena Hill, DNP, CRNA, APRN - Secretary-Treasurer

Tatyana LaTorres - DNP, CRNA - Vice President

Mayte Diaz, DNP, CRNA, APRN - 2023-2025 Director

Gerard Hogan, DNSc, CRNA, APRN, FAANA - 2024-2026 Director

John McDonough, EdD, CRNA, APRN - 2024-2026 Director

Sabrina Nelson-Winters, DNP, CRNA, APRN - 2023-2025 Director

David Pawlikowski CRNA, APRN, MSHS - 2024-2025 Director

And Jeremy Matyjaszek, RRNA, will serve as the Chair of the Florida Association of Resident Registered Nurse Anesthetists (FARRNA).

The three-day FANA Annual Meeting provides Florida's CRNAs and RRNAs an opportunity to celebrate their profession and to learn about new medical breakthroughs or techniques being used in the administration of anesthesiology and therapeutics. Attendees also participated in American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology-approved programs which offered CRNAs required Continuing Education credits in their field.

The new FANA Board also met and set the Association's forward-looking legislative agenda in preparation for the 2025 Legislative Session set to commence in March next year.

## About FANA

Founded in 1936, The Florida Association of Nurse Anesthesiology (FANA) represents more than 6,400 nurse anesthesiology professionals. FANA advocates for its patients and members at the state and federal levels and serves as a resource for CRNAs, the nursing and medical professions, hospitals, health care facilities, and others interested in anesthesia care. For more information visit <u>www.fana.org</u>.